The SPFL today revealed the 2017/18 fixture lists for the Ladbrokes Premiership, Championship, League 1 and League 2.

Champions Celtic will begin the defence of their trophy with a home match against Heart of Midlothian while last season's runners-up Aberdeen kick off against Hamilton Accies at Pittodrie and Hibernian mark their top-flight return at home to Partick Thistle.

The first meeting of Celtic and Rangers is scheduled for Ibrox on the weekend of September 23 while the opening Edinburgh derby will be played at Easter Road on the midweek of October 25.

The Ladbrokes Premiership again incorporates a winter break, with no fixtures scheduled for January 6 and 13 - the top-flight clubs return to action in Scottish Cup round four on January 20.

Fixture round 33 takes place on the weekend of April 7, with post-split games on April 21, April 28, May 5, May 9 and May 12/13. The season ends with the Premiership play-off final on May 17 and 20.

In the Ladbrokes Championship, Inverness Caley Thistle start at home Dundee United while St Mirren host Falkirk and Livingston's opening game back in the second tier is against Dunfermline Athletic at the Tony Macaroni Arena.

Arbroath will receive the flag for winning Ladbrokes League 2 before getting their League 1 campaign underway against Queen's Park at Gayfield while Alloa Athletic and Raith Rovers – who will both hope to challenge for promotion – meet at the Indodrill Stadium.

Stenhousemuir begin their Ladbrokes League 2 season against local rivals Stirling Albion at Ochilview while Peterhead travel to Galabank to play Annan Athletic.

Please note that all fixtures are subject to change and the first batch of live TV games will be confirmed as soon as possible.

SPFL Story of the Season

😍 Exciting. Spectacular. Ridiculous. Bizarre. Funny. Heartbreaking. 16/17 has been a belter. Watch our #SPFL Story of the Season here 🙌

Posted by SPFL on Thursday, 1 June 2017

Follow @spfl on Twitter for all the latest video, stats and trivia from Scottish football

Subscribe to the SPFL on YouTube to make sure you never miss a goal again

Like the SPFL on Facebook and get involved in the chat

The opening matches for the 2017/18 season are:

Ladbrokes Premiership

Aberdeen v Hamilton 05/08/17
Celtic v Hearts 05/08/17
Dundee v Ross County 05/08/17
Hibernian v Partick Thistle 05/08/17
Kilmarnock v St Johnstone 05/08/17
Motherwell v Rangers 05/08/17
View all Ladbrokes Premiership Fixtures »

Ladbrokes Championship

Dumbarton v Morton 05/08/17
Inverness v Dundee United 05/08/17
Livingston v Dunfermline 05/08/17
Queen of the South v Brechin City 05/08/17
St. Mirren v Falkirk 05/08/17
View all Ladbrokes Championship Fixtures »

Ladbrokes League One

Albion Rovers v Ayr United 05/08/17
Alloa Athletic v Raith Rovers 05/08/17
Arbroath v Queen's Park 05/08/17
Forfar Athletic v Airdrieonians 05/08/17
Stranraer v East Fife 05/08/17
View all Ladbrokes League One Fixtures »

Ladbrokes League Two

Annan Athletic v Peterhead 05/08/17
Berwick Rangers v Clyde 05/08/17
Edinburgh City v Montrose 05/08/17
Elgin City v Cowdenbeath 05/08/17
Stenhousemuir v Stirling Albion 05/08/17
View all Ladbrokes League Two Fixtures »