Key dates for Season 2018/19

Tuesday 20th February 2018

The SPFL today announced some key dates for Season 2018/19 and also confirmed the retention of the Ladbrokes Premiership winter break.

All four divisions will kick off on the weekend of Saturday August 4, with the Premiership shutting down from Monday December 31 until Friday January 18.

Season 2018/19 will begin with the group stage of the Betfred Cup in mid-July, as has been the case for the past two years. However, the Betfred Cup last 16 will be played on Saturday August 18 rather than the usual midweek slot due to a change in the UEFA competition dates.

The first round of the IRN-BRU Cup is scheduled for the midweek of August 14/15.

Fixtures for the 2018/19 League Season will be published in mid-June.

Season 2018/19 key dates

Betfred Cup group stage matches
MD1 Saturday July 14
MD2 Midweek of July 17/18
MD3 Saturday July 21
MD4 Midweek of July 24/25
MD5 Saturday July 28 

Betfred Cup round 2
Saturday August 18 

Ladbrokes SPFL (all divisions)
Fixture round 1: Saturday August 4
Fixture round 2: Saturday August 11

Ladbrokes Premiership winter break 
Monday December 31 until Friday January 18

IRN-BRU Cup round 1
Midweek of August 14/15

All of the above dates are subject to live broadcast selections

view all articles »