Latest News

alt description

Tuesday 28th May 2019

Betfred Cup

Betfred Cup draw live today!

Seedings have been confirmed for this afternoon's Betfred Cup group stage draw...

The draw for the group stage of the 2019/20 Betfred Cup will made at Hampden Park at 1.30pm today and will be streamed live on the SPFL YouTube channel. 

Forty clubs are involved in the draw - the 38 SPFL clubs from 2018/19 who are not participating in European competitions in the forthcoming season plus Lowland League champions East Kilbride and Highland League winners Cove Rangers.

The draw will produce eight groups of five teams on a regionalised basis. The four north and four south groups will each be made up of a first seed, a second seed and three unseeded clubs, with seeding based on league positions at the end of season 2018/19.

The format sees all drawn group stage matches go straight to a penalty shoot-out, with the winners earning a bonus point in addition to the point given to each team for a draw. 

The eight group winners and four best runners-up progress to the last 16 of the competition on the weekend of August 17/18, where they will be joined by holders Celtic and fellow European representatives Rangers, Kilmarnock and Aberdeen.

The full group stage fixture list, including BT Sport live TV selections, will be confirmed in due course, with ties to be played on the following dates:

Betfred Cup group stage
MD1 Weekend of July 13/14, 2019
MD2 Midweek of July 16/17, 2019
MD3 Weekend of July 20/21, 2019
MD4 Midweek of July 23/24, 2019
MD5 Weekend of July 27/28, 2019

North section - first seeds
1 Hibernian
2 Heart of Midlothian
3 St Johnstone
4 Dundee

South section - first seeds
5 Motherwell
6 Livingston
7 Hamilton Academical
8 St Mirren

North section - second seeds
9 Ross County
10 Dundee United
11 Inverness Caledonian Thistle
12 Alloa Athletic

South section - second seeds
13 Ayr United
14 Morton
15 Partick Thistle
16 Dunfermline Athletic

North section - unseeded teams
17 Arbroath
18 Forfar Athletic
19 Raith Rovers
20 Montrose
21 East Fife
22 Stenhousemuir
23 Brechin City
24 Peterhead
25 Stirling Albion
26 Cowdenbeath
27 Elgin City
28 Cove Rangers

South section - unseeded teams
29 Queen of the South
30 Falkirk
31 Airdrieonians
32 Dumbarton
33 Stranraer
34 Clyde
35 Edinburgh City
36 Annan Athletic
37 Queen's Park
38 Albion Rovers
39 Berwick Rangers
40 East Kilbride