Latest News

alt description

Friday 29th May 2009


SFL End of Season Award Winners Announced

The world of Scottish football gathered in Glasgow last night (Thursday 28th May) for the second annual IRN-BRU SFL End of Season Awards. The event celebrated a phenomenal season of football and also saw IRN-BRU announce the recipients of their £70,000 investment in youth football.

IRN-BRU held the glittering awards ceremony, hosted by Bill Leckie, at the city's Fruitmarket venue and recognised the best clubs, footballers and managers from across the first, second and third divisions. Seven SFL clubs also received a cash bonus, through IRN-BRU's text to win promotion, which has seen more than 42,000 fans text in with the club's details to increase their share in the £70,000 kitty.

The evening saw St. Johnstone pick up an impressive three awards – 1st Division Manager, Goal of the Season and Team of the Season. Dumbarton, Raith Rovers and Annan Athletic were also recognised following a judging process by top Scottish sports journalists.


IRN-BRU Phenomenal Team of the Season 2008/09:

St. Johnstone FC

IRN-BRU Phenomenal Achievement of the Season 2008/09:

Jim McInally, East Stirlingshire

IRN-BRU Phenomenal Goal of the Season 2008/09:

Liam Craig, St Johnstone v Dunfermline, November 2008

IRN-BRU Phenomenal Contribution of the Season 2008/09:

Harry Cairney, Annan Athletic

IRN-BRU Phenomenal 1st Division Manager of the Season 2008/09:

Derek McInnes, St Johnstone

IRN-BRU Phenomenal 2nd Division Manager of the Season 2008/09:

John McGlynn, Raith Rovers

IRN-BRU Phenomenal 3rd Division Manager of the Season 2008/09:

Jim Chapman, Dumbarton

IRN-BRU Phenomenal 1st Division Player of the Season 2008/09:

Gary Harkins, Partick Thistle

IRN-BRU Phenomenal 2nd Division Player of the Season 2008/09:

Bryan Prunty, Ayr United

IRN-BRU Phenomenal 3rd Division Player of the Season 2008/09:

Bobby Barr, Albion Rovers

IRN-BRU Phenomenal Young Player of the Season 2008/09:

Leigh Griffiths, Livingston


1st Division Winners – Partick Thistle, John Henry was presented with a cheque for £7000

2nd place – Dunfermline, John Yorkson was presented with a cheque for £5000

Runners up- Clyde, Ian Currie was presented with a cheque for £2000

2nd Division Winners – Ayr United, Hugh Cameron was presented with a cheque for £4500

2nd place – East Fife, Paul McManus was presented with a cheque for £1500

3rd Division Winners – Stenhousemuir, David Reid was presented with a cheque for £4500

2nd place – East Stirlingshire, Paul Marnie was presented with a cheque for £3500

*Every other SFL team will be presented with a cheque for either £2000 or £1500, depending on their league, on the first day of the 2009/10 season.

Head of Marketing for IRN-BRU, Adrian Troy, commented:

"The past season has been a very exciting one, with plenty of action and excitement for fans all over Scotland. It's wonderful to have everyone connected to the SFL with us at the Fruitmarket to celebrate those individuals and teams who have had a phenomenal season and also to reward our top seven teams, with their cheques, which we hope will have big impact for each club. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who attended last night's event and also to all those supporters who got behind their local team in our text to win promotion."

David Longmuir, Chief Executive of the Scottish Football League said:

"The End of Season Awards provides the SFL with a wonderful opportunity to celebrate all that is great with the 1st, 2nd and 3rd divisions thanks to league sponsors IRN-BRU. Over the past season, players have given their all and fans have been right behind them every step of the way. This commitment and dedication is what makes the SFL so special and we are already looking forward to an exciting season ahead, with the addition of Raith Rovers to 1st Division."

For further information, please contact Stacey Blevins at Burt Greener Communications on 0141 248 6007 or [email protected]