Latest News

alt description

Monday 17th February 2020

Weekend in numbers

Resident statto @splstats looks at some of the numbers behind the weekend games in the SPFL...

8 – Celtic defeated Aberdeen 2-1 at Pittodrie to maintain their 10-point lead at the top of the Ladbrokes Premiership. The Hoops have picked up nine wins out of nine in all competitions in 2020, scoring 27 goals in the process. Sunday’s success was their eighth consecutive victory at Pittodrie, which is their best-ever run in Aberdeen – they had never previously won more than four in a row.

Celtic’s Pittodrie wins
29/10/2016 – Aberdeen 0-1 Celtic
12/05/2017 – Aberdeen 1-3 Celtic
25/10/2017 – Aberdeen 0-3 Celtic
25/02/2018 – Aberdeen 0-2 Celtic
26/12/2018 – Aberdeen 3-4 Celtic
04/05/2019 – Aberdeen 0-3 Celtic
27/10/2019 – Aberdeen 0-4 Celtic
16/02/2020 – Aberdeen 1-2 Celtic

3 – Arbroath climbed into fourth place in the Ladbrokes Championship table courtesy of a 2-0 victory over Queen of the South at Gayfield on Saturday. Dick Campbell’s side now occupy the final promotion play-off spot with a third of the season remaining, and may be dreaming of a shock return to the top flight for the first time since 1974/75. The Red Lichties have recorded three consecutive league victories – the last time they did this in the second tier was back in March and April 1979.

Arbroath’s three in a row
25/01/2020 – Arbroath 2-1 Partick Thistle
01/02/2020 – Dundee United 0-1 Arbroath
15/02/2020 – Arbroath 2-0 Queen of the South

3 – Airdrieonians defeated Clyde 2-0 at the Penny Cars Stadium to hold on to third place in Ladbrokes League 1. Andy Ryan netted his first goal since returning to the club in January – his last goal for Airdrie came in a 1-1 draw with Arbroath in August 2017. The Diamonds have won their last three home matches against Clyde and have won five of their last six at home to the Bully Wee in the league. Ian Murray’s side have suffered just one defeat in their last eight home league matches – against leaders Raith Rovers earlier in the month.

Airdrie’s home league record against Clyde
14/10/2006 – Airdrieonians 2-1 Clyde
27/01/2007 – Airdrieonians 1-0 Clyde
20/09/2008 – Airdrieonians 0-2 Clyde
22/02/2009 – Airdrieonians 1-0 Clyde
17/08/2019 – Airdrieonians 3-1 Clyde
15/02/2020 – Airdrieonians 2-0 Clyde

12 – Cove Rangers moved six points clear at the top of the Ladbrokes League 2 table thanks to a dramatic, late 2-1 victory over Edinburgh City at Balmoral Stadium. Paul Hartley’s side maintained their 100% home league record – they have earned 12 wins out of 12 in Aberdeen this season. Cove also won their last four home Highland League matches last season, so in all they have chalked up 16 consecutive home league wins.

Longest current home league winning streaks in SPFL
12 – Cove Rangers (+ 4 in the Highland League)
6 – Livingston
3 – Montrose
2 – Arbroath, Celtic, East Fife, Falkirk, Queen’s Park, Raith Rovers, Rangers

5 – Inverness Caledonian Thistle reached the Tunnock’s Caramel Wafer Cup final thanks to a 2-1 victory over Rangers Colts at the Caledonian Stadium on Sunday. The Caley Jags will play in the final for a fifth time, equalling the record set by their Highland rivals Ross County last season. Inverness have won two and lost two of their previous finals, with their most recent being a 1-0 victory over Dumbarton in 2017/18. They will face Raith Rovers in the final – Rovers sealed their spot with a 2-1 victory over Partick Thistle at Firhill on Friday night. Rovers have reached the final of the competition for the second time – their only previous final came back in 2013/14, when they defeated Rangers to win the trophy.

The last 10 Challenge Cup finals
2009/10 – Dundee 3-2 Inverness Caledonian Thistle (McDiarmid Park)
2010/11 – Ross County 2-0 Queen of the South (McDiarmid Park)
2011/12 – Falkirk 1-0 Hamilton Academical (Tony Macaroni Arena)
2012/13 – Queen of the South 1-1 Partick Thistle [AET, 6-5 pens] (Tony Macaroni Arena)
2013/14 – Raith Rovers 1-0 Rangers (Easter Road)
2014/15 – Livingston 4-0 Alloa Athletic (McDiarmid Park)
2015/16 – Rangers 4-0 Peterhead (Hampden)
2016/17 – Dundee United 2-1 St Mirren (Fir Park)
2017/18 – Inverness Caledonian Thistle 1-0 Dumbarton (McDiarmid Park)
2018/19 – Ross County 3-1 Connah’s Quay Nomads (Caledonian Stadium)