Latest News

alt description

Sunday 24th July 2022

Raith Rovers Hibernian cinch Championship

Six days to go

Resident statto @splstats continues his countdown to the 2022/23 league season...

  • Raith Rovers will be aiming to improve on last season’s 5th place finish in the cinch Championship under new manager Ian Murray. Rovers have won the second tier on 6 previous occasions, just one short of the all-time record set by Falkirk and St Johnstone. It has now been 25 years since Kirkcaldy hosted top flight football – Rovers’ last spell in the Premier Division was back in 1996/97.
  • Aberdeen will kick off their season with a trip to Glasgow to take on champions Celtic – this is the first time in 6 seasons that they have kicked off a cinch Premiership campaign with an away fixture. This is only the second time they have ever started a league season at Celtic Park – the other came back in 2012/13, when they were beaten 1-0. The Dons will be hoping to bounce back after a run of 8 consecutive top four finishes ended last season.
  • Hibernian’s first game of the 2022/23 cinch Premiership campaign sees them take on St Johnstone at McDiarmid Park. The Hibees have won each of their last 6 opening day league matches, most recently defeating Motherwell 3-2 at Fir Park on the opening weekend of the 2021/22 campaign. They have never previously kicked off a league season in Perth – their only previous opening day encounters with Saints came in 1926 and 1928, both in Edinburgh.
  • Hamilton Academical finished in 6th place in the 2021/22 cinch Championship as they returned to the division after seven years in the top flight. John Rankin will make his managerial debut in the SPFL after a glittering career which saw him make over 500 league appearances across all four divisions.
  • Stranraer finished 6th in cinch League 2 last season, missing out on the final play-off spot by five points. The Blues will be playing at this level for the third consecutive season – that’s exactly how many years it took them to gain promotion from this division last time around (back in 2011/12).