Latest News

alt description

Wednesday 6th April 2016

10 things about the Petrofac Cup

The Petrofac Training Cup Final takes place at Hampden on Sunday when Rangers face Peterhead, live on BBC ALBA with a 3.00pm kick-off.  

The Petrofac Training Cup Final takes place at Hampden on Sunday when Rangers face Peterhead, live on BBC ALBA with a 3.00pm kick-off.

Here are 10 things you might not know about the tournament, which was most recently won by Livingston at McDiarmid Park in April.

1 The competition began life as the B&Q Centenary Cup in 1990/91 to mark 100 years of the Scottish Football League. It has been played every season since then, with the exception of 1998/99. Dundee were the first winners, Billy Dodds scoring a hat-trick in a 3-2 victory over Ayr United at Fir Park.

2 The only manager to have won the competition twice is Terry Christie. He guided Stenhousemuir to victory over Dundee United in 1995/96 and was in charge when Alloa lifted the trophy against Inverness CT in 1999/00. On both occasions the Wasps won on penalties.

3 Falkirk have reached the final four times and have won each time - against St Mirren in 1993/94, Queen of the South in 1997/98, Ross County in 2004/05 and Hamilton Accies in 2011/12.

4 Paul Sheerin scored a hat-trick in the 1999/00 final but still ended up on the losing side as Alloa beat Inverness Caley Thistle on penalties after a thrilling 4-4 draw.

5 One of the most remarkable games in the history of the competition was at Borough Briggs on Saturday July 28, 2012 when visitors Arbroath beat Elgin City 7-5, helped by hat-tricks from Lee Sibanda and Darren Gribben.

6 Hamilton Accies and Meadowbank Thistle contested the 1992/93 semi-final, which ended 1-1 after extra time. Accies eventually prevailed 2-1 on spot-kicks, in what must be one of the lowest-scoring shoot-outs in football history! Remarkably, a total of 14 kicks were taken and 11 were missed - with goalkeepers Allan Ferguson and Stephen Ellison in inspired form.

7 The first ever hat-trick in the tournament was scored by John Sludden of Kilmarnock on October 2, 1990 in a 4-1 first-round win over Stirling Albion at Rugby Park.

8 Five finals have finished 3-2 and five have ended 1-0 – these are the two most common results in the 24 finals that have been played to date.

9 McDiarmid Park has staged most finals. Last season’s decider between Livingston and Alloa was the ninth to be held in Perth. This is the first at Hampden and the crowd will be more than double the 19,983 that saw Raith Rovers beat Rangers 1-0 at Easter Road in 2013/14.

10 Goalkeeper Tony Parks won this competition with Falkirk in 1993/94, 10 years after he was the hero in the penalty shoot-out in the 1983/84 UEFA Cup Final when Tottenham beat Anderlecht.