Latest News

alt description

Friday 5th May 2017

Helicopter Saturday in League 2!

The SPFL have commissioned a helicopter to deliver the trophy to Station Park or Forthbank as Ladbrokes League 2 gears up for a dramatic final day.

The SPFL have commissioned a helicopter to deliver the trophy to Station Park or Forthbank as Ladbrokes League 2 gears up for a dramatic final day.

Arbroath know a win at Stirling Albion will guarantee them the title while Forfar, a point behind with an inferior goal difference, must beat Annan Athletic and hope their local rivals slip up. Here are a few facts and figures ahead of what promises to be an exciting afternoon…

+ Both clubs have won this title once before - Forfar were champions in the first season of the four-division set-up in 1994/95, finishing 13 points clear of Montrose under the management of Tommy Campbell. Arbroath claimed their first major trophy in 2010/11 when Paul Sheerin's side finished five points in front of Albion Rovers.

+ Forfar had been top of Ladbrokes League 2 since beating Berwick Rangers on August 20 but were leapfrogged by Arbroath last weekend after drawing 1-1 at bottom club Cowdenbeath, while the Red Lichties defeated Elgin City 3-2 at Gayfield.

+ The Angus rivals have both picked up more points away from home this season than at home, winning 10 games each on their travels. Across the entire SPFL, only Celtic (15) and Livingston (12) have won more away matches, although Hibernian have also won 10. Arbroath's only away league defeat this season was to Clyde at Broadwood back in September.

+ Arbroath are unbeaten against this weekend's opponents Stirling Albion this season, winning 5-3 and drawing 1-1 at Gayfield. It ended 2-2 on their last visit to Forthbank in November when the Binos fought back from two goals down thanks to a last-gasp double from Sean Dickson, the second a stunning stoppage-time volley that has been shortlisted for PFA Scotland/Sky Sports Goal of the Season.

+ Arbroath have won on just one of their last eight visits to Forthbank - a 1-0 victory in November 2011 when Stuart Malcolm scored a last-minute goal.

+ Forfar have won all three meetings with this weekend’s opponents Annan Athletic - who will finish third no matter the outcome tomorrow. The Loons were 5-1 winners in a midweek match at Station Park in December and triumphed 2-1 on both visits to Galabank.

+ Former Dundee United and Alloa midfielder Ryan McCord is Arbroath's leading scorer this season with 13 league goals, one more than Steven Doris. Danny Denholm (12) is Forfar's leading League 2 marksman, one ahead of both David Cox and Josh Peters.

+ Arbroath boss Dick Campbell has been in charge at Gayfield since March 2016, when he replaced Todd Lumsden. The 63-year-old guided Brechin City to the Third Division title in 2001/02 and took them up from the Second Division the following season. He was manager of Partick Thistle when they edged out Peterhead in the play-offs to earn promotion to the First Division in 2005/06 and took Forfar out of the Third Division via the play-offs in 2009/10.

+ Gary Bollan has been manager of Forfar Athletic since December 2015 when he moved from Airdrieonians to take over from the long-serving Dick Campbell. The 44-year-old previously led Livingston to back-to-back titles, winning Division Three in 2009/10 and Division Two 12 months later.

Previous League 2 champions
1994/95 Forfar Athletic - 80 pts (13)
1995/96 Livingston - 72 pts (9)
1996/97 Inverness CT - 76 pts (9)
1997/98 Alloa Athletic - 76 pts (8)
1998/99 Ross County - 77 pts (13)
1999/00 Queen's Park - 69 pts (3)
2000/01 Hamilton Accies - 76 pts (GD)
2001/02 Brechin City - 73 pts (12)    
2002/03 Morton - 72 pts (1)
2003/04 Stranraer - 79 pts (2)
2004/05 Gretna - 98 pts (20)
2005/06 Cowdenbeath - 76 pts (GD)
2006/07 Berwick Rangers - 75 pts (5)
2007/08 East Fife - 88 pts (23)
2008/09 Dumbarton - 67 pts (4)
2009/10 Livingston - 78 pts (15)
2010/11 Arbroath - 66 pts (5)
2011/12 Alloa Athletic - 77 pts (14)
2012/13 Rangers - 83 pts (24)
2013/14 Peterhead - 76 pts (13)
2014/15 Albion Rovers - 71 pts (10)
2015/16 East Fife - 62 pts (3)

(Winning margin in brackets)