Latest News

alt description

Tuesday 31st January 2017

SPFL Team of the Week

Craig Fowler selects his latest SPFL Team of the Week, with Elgin City striker Shane Sutherland the star man after a hat-trick against Edinburgh City.

Craig Fowler selects his latest SPFL Team of the Week, with Elgin City striker Shane Sutherland the star man after a hat-trick against Edinburgh City.

GK - Sean Murdoch (Dunfermline Athletic)
The Dunfermline goalkeeper made a terrific one-handed stop to deny Blair Spittal with only five minutes remaining in their 1-1 draw with Dundee United. It stretched the hosts' unbeaten run to 11 games and helped win Murdoch the man-of-the-match award after a couple of impressive stops earlier in the match.

RB - Craig Halkett (Livingston)
Great performance from the Livingston defender playing on the right of the team's back four. He was solid in defence and put in a shift going forward, including grabbing the second goal as Livingston strolled past Brechin City with a 3-0 win.

DC - Gary Dicker (Kilmarnock)
A calm and composed performance from the veteran midfielder, even when he was moved into the back four during Kilmarnock's come-from-behind 3-2 victory over Ross County. Either Dicker or Kristoffer Ajer could have been included, but Dicker gets the nod for scoring the equaliser as Killie started life without Souleymane Coulibaly in positive fashion.

DC - Ryan Strachan (Peterhead)
The defender put in a classy display as Peterhead swept aside Queen's Park at Balmoor. The visitors had the odds stacked against them, having played a gruelling cup game with Ayr United in midweek, and their task was made even tougher when Ryan McGeever was sent off. By that point, though, Peterhead were already two goals to the good, with Strachan getting the first in a 4-0 win.

DL - Kieran Tierney (Celtic)
The left-back showed no ill-effects of his recent return from injury as he terrorised Hearts down the left of the Celtic attack. The youngster charged up the line from left back from start to finish, which helped set up two goals on a plate for the league leaders in their 4-0 win.

MR - Niall McGinn (Aberdeen)
Given time off over the winter break, McGinn now looks fully recharged and back to his best after putting Dundee to the sword on Friday night. The Northern Irishman was unplayable as he netted twice and was a constant thorn in the visitors' side as Aberdeen ran out 3-0 winners.

MC - Emerson Hyndman (Rangers)
The on-loan midfielder showed flawless passing - he completed every one of his attempts - and real drive and purpose from the centre of the park as Rangers overcame an early one-man disadvantage to defeat Motherwell. Hyndman notched the second in the 2-0 victory.

MC - Ross Forbes (Morton)
The midfielder continued his terrific season with two goals in Morton's one-sided victory over Ayr United. His first strike, in particular, was a thing of beauty, as Jim Duffy’s men kept up their recent terrific run to close the gap on second-placed Dundee United.

ML - Alan Cook (Stenhousemuir)
The winger gave right-back Scott Stewart an afternoon to forget as he continually tore past the Airdrie player, helping Stenhousemuir to record a crucial 4-2 win. Cook scored twice as Stenny won for the second week in succession, going three points clear of Stranraer at the bottom of League 1.

FC - Graham Cummins (St Johnstone)
The striker hasn't had the happiest of seasons to this point, but he'll gain confidence from a terrific showing in St Johnstone's 3-0 win over Hamilton as the home side rebounded from a lacklustre first half. Cummins got them in front with a strong header before tucking away Blair Alston's cross for his second of the game.

FC - Shane Sutherland (Elgin City)
The striker took his tally up to a whopping 23 goals for the season, including his third hat-trick, by scoring every Elgin goal in their 3-1 victory over Edinburgh City. The result took City 10 points clear of fifth-place Montrose in the battle for the play-offs. He's this week's star man.

Honourable mentions: David Gray (Hibs), David Smith (Dumbarton), Kristoffer Ajer (Kilmarnock), Paul Watson (Falkirk), Darren Barr (Dumbarton), Grant Anderson (Peterhead), Craig Sibbald (Falkirk), Nir Bitton (Celtic), John McGinn (Hibs), Scott Sinclair (Celtic), John Baird (Falkirk), Gary Oliver (Morton), Smart Osadolor (Annan Athletic).