Latest News

alt description

Tuesday 5th July 2016

Betfred Cup countdown: 10 days to go

With 10 days to go until the new season kicks off with the Betfred Cup, we take a look at a few facts and figures from a competition that began in 1946.

With 10 days to go until the new season kicks off with the Betfred Cup, we take a look at a few facts and figures from a competition that began in 1946.

# The first round will be played across five matchdays, with the eight group winners and four best runners-up joining Celtic, Aberdeen, Heart of Midlothian and Hibernian in the last 16.

# The League Cup has been won by a total of 15 different clubs across 70 seasons: Rangers (27), Celtic (15), Aberdeen (6), Heart of Midlothian (4), Dundee (3), East Fife (3), Hibernian (3), Dundee United (2), Kilmarnock (1), Livingston (1), Motherwell (1), Partick Thistle (1), Raith Rovers (1), Ross County (1) and St Mirren (1).

# Six different teams have won the tournament in the past six seasons: Rangers (2010/11), Kilmarnock (2011/12), St Mirren (2012/13), Aberdeen (2013/14), Celtic (2014/15) and current holders Ross County (2015/16).

# The 2016/17 Betfred Cup Final will be played on Sunday November 27.This will be the first time since 1998/99 - when Rangers defeated St Johnstone 2-1 at Celtic Park - that the final has taken place before Christmas. Between 1999/00 and 2015/16 the final was always played in March.

# The last team from out with the top flight to lift the trophy were Raith Rovers, who beat Celtic on penalties after a 2-2 draw at Ibrox in 1994/95. The only other team to achieve the feat are East Fife, who beat Falkirk in a replay in 1947/48.

# Dunfermline Athletic have reached most finals without getting their hands on the silverware – they were runners-up in 1949/50, 1991/92 and 2005/06.

# The 1993/94 tournament saw two clubs suffer their record defeats - Partick Thistle thrashed Albion Rovers 11-1 at Fir Park and a fortnight later Celtic hammered Arbroath 9-1 at Gayfield.

# A group stage last featured in this competition in 1983/84 but on that occasion there were two knock-out rounds before it. The remaining 16 clubs were then split into four sections of four, with the winners progressing to the semi-finals.